Tasmanian devils and other lovely creatures - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Wytske Posthumus - WaarBenJij.nu Tasmanian devils and other lovely creatures - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Wytske Posthumus - WaarBenJij.nu

Tasmanian devils and other lovely creatures

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wytske

03 Februari 2017 | Australië, Melbourne

Hi there!

How's life on the other side of the world?

Since my latest story I've strolled through the streets of Melbourne to discover the city and went on a road trip to Tasmania.

The last days in Melbourne were pretty turbulent, which started with me tearing out of my only pair of jeans (besides the fact that the jeans were 4 years old, backpacking really equals putting on some extra weight).
Happy with the fact that I finally could allow myself to go shopping I went to Bourke street. However this was at exactly the same time that a maniac decided to race across the pedestrian area on Bourke st, resulting in multiple people flying through the air and complete chaos. Unaware of what just happened I went back to the hostel, where I heard the news that multiple people died following the incident. Luckily I'm still in one piece and able to continue my journey!

From Melbourne I caught a nightly plane to Tasmania, where I then had to wait for 6 more hours before I could check in to my hostel. A couple of hours sleep in the park later it was finally time to meet the group of soon to be new friends, which of course was celebrated with some nice games of Kings' Cup before discovering the city's nightlife.

After some negotiations we were able to rent two nice cars, which would be our homes for the next 9 days. Apparently the car hire companies are having a hard time trusting drivers under 21 or drivers without a valid drivers license, which made me the proud driver of our little blue car <3.

We did a lovely roadtrip across Tassie, starting of at Eddystone point, following the bay of fires to our first camping. This was also my first experience with driving on a gravel/dirt road, of which I've gradually got more used to. After some tiny discussions with the previous owner of the campfire we sat around, we had a "typical backpacker campingnight" starring the beach, campfiresongs, an unbelievable amount of stars and our new friend the Tasmanian devil who kept me up half of the night. Totally happy with the fact that we encountered a real Tasmanian devil I was told the next morning that it was "just an opossum". However, I just keep pretending it was a ferocious devil screaming outside our tents.

The next day we were off to Binalong Bay for a nice couple of hours on the beach. Despite the fact that I put on suncream 5 times and the fact that it wasn't even sunny, my skin managed to show it's amazing talent once more, which made me lobster all over again. We found ourselves a nice non-existent campingspot near a creek to spend the night, resulting in 20000 mozzies (mosquitoes) feeding themselves with our blood. Lesson in life learned: dutch anti mozzie spray does defenitely NOT work here.

After we retrieved our little pink tent that had blown away in the morning we were of to Wineglass Bay. This was honestly one of the most amazing views and beaches I've ever seen in my life, completed with the experience of petting my first wallabie and the hopeless attempts to take a selfie with it. We celebrated the end of the day with a nice BBQ, which finally gave me the opportunity to eat some proper amounts of meat since I've arrived in Aussie. The evening was even more complete when a local fisherman offered us an enormous lobster as desert, which was defenitely the best lobster I've had the past couple of years.

After we missed the ferry to Maria Island the next morning we were of to Bruny Island, where our epic little blue car managed to score the last place on the ferry both ways of the return. We saw some amazing views, including the 5 KM long "neck", connection the northern and southern part of the island. Afterwards it was time to celebrate Australia Day in Hobart, resulting in a well deserved day of rest for everyone afterwards.

After Hobart we went on to discover the west coast, starring the Tahune Airwalk (which promises a lot of adrenalin but actually just costs you a lot of money), beautiful waterfalls, the Gordon Dam (140 m high, hello fear of hights), a crashed drone followed by a nerve wrecking adventure to retrieve the drone, driving in the middle of wallabies, running almost out of fuel, sunsets at the water, a hostelmanager who lost his artificial teeth every other 3 minutes, the epic final of the Australian Open, a lot of sun an finally on the last day:

Rain.
Which was exactly the day we were planning to hike Cradle Mountain, yet made impossible by the pouring rain. This resulted in visiting an amazing wildlife sanctuary where we cuddled with wombats and kangaroos, took 150 selfies and petted a Tasmanian Devil whose teeth are strong enough to bite through bones and metal, yet looks quite cute.

After trying to find a party at our last night in Tassie we were helped out by the police and just told to go home, because the nearest club that would be open was 100 km away. The next day we had to repack our backpacks and I managed to score an epic 19.3 kg on my 20 kg limited luggage..

Now I'm back in Melbourne where it's time for the next adventure: In a couple of minutes I can pick up my new car, which is supposed to take me and my new friends up the east coast.

So far this journey is a real rollercoster, which I'm enjoying at its most. My thoughts now have switched to some weird mixture of English and German, with some Dutch words in between. This is what makes it easier to write in English at the moment, although I'm pretty sure my grammar is not where it should be after 6 years of proper high school education (sorry dear former teachers..)

For photo's I'd like to redirect you to facebook, since I haven't discovered the function yet to upload 250 photos to my blog.
I'll keep you posted on my adventures!

With love,
Wyts

(Dutch version might follow if I find some spare minutes)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wytske

22 years old, juist finished my bachelor of medicine. Studied for 4 years in the beautiful Groningen, currently waiting for my internships to start (nov 2017). Travelling along the south- and eastcost of Australia from 5/jan till 27/march, after which I'll be spending 2 weeks in Bali before flying home.

Actief sinds 15 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 527
Totaal aantal bezoekers 71078

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Januari 2017 - 11 April 2017

Australie en Bali 2017

15 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: